Loyola Marymount University Men’s Lacrosse

LOS ANGELES – Dec 21, 2012 – For the second year in a row the Loyola Marymount University Men’s Lacrosse team has been named the District 10 Ace Adams Award winner. Each year, District 10 (California, Arizona, Nevada, Hawaii) Collegiate Officials Committee votes on the school whose coaches, players, fans, and administrators demonstrate the best sportsmanship and respect for the game of lacrosse.

LMU is not only the first team in District 10 history to win this award twice, but it’s the first team to win the award in consecutive years. District 10 Governor, Frank Lanser said, “winning consecutive sportsmanship awards is, in my opinion, more difficult than repeating as league champion.”

Receiving this award is a tremendous honor for the university, fans, team and head coach Craig Hochstadt whose teams have been the recipient of the award in the both seasons that he’s led the Lions. The awards are also a reflection of the hard work by student leaders Colin Tempelis (President ’11 & Asst. Coach ’12) and Johnny Gilbreath (President ’12).

The Ace Adams Award was named after James “Ace” Adams, former Army and Virginia head coach and Lacrosse Hall of Fame member. Ace was renowned for his positive sideline demeanor and the exceptional character displayed by his teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>