SYRACUSE, N.Y. – Three Orange greats will be inducted into the Upstate New York Chapter of the Lacrosse Hall of Fame in a ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 21 at The Links at Erie Village located in East Syracuse.

Syracuse University lacrosse alums Gary Gait, Ron Hill and Charlie Lockwood are among the eight individuals that make up the 2012 induction class. The others are Rich Barnes, Jason Coffman, Jim Luchsinger, Doug Rowe, and Jeff Tambroni.

A 2005 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame inductee, Gait led Syracuse to three national championships (1988-90). In 1988, he set the Orange single-season record with 70 goals. Gait was four-time All-American and won the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association’s (USILA) Raymond J. Enners Award as national player of the year twice (1988, 1990).

Gait is currently the Orange women’s lacrosse coach. In five seasons under his direction, the SU women are 76-27 (.738) and have made three trips to the national semifinals. In 2012, the Orange went 19-4 and advanced to the national championship game.

Hill played at Syracuse for three seasons (1971-72, 1974). He led the Orange in scoring twice and earned honorable mention All-America honors in 1972. Following his collegiate career, Hill played in the original National Lacrosse League (NLL) and worked as a high school lacrosse coach.

Lockwood came to Syracuse from nearby West Genesee High School. A four-time All-American for the Orange, Lockwood finished his SU career with 152 points (87 goals, 55 assists). He led the Orange to the national championship in 1993, and went on to play in two world championships as a member of Team USA (1994, 1998).

With the enshrinement of Gait, Hill and Lockwood, the number of inductees with ties to Syracuse University in the Upstate New York Chapter of the Lacrosse Hall of Fame rises to 19.

Tickets for the induction ceremony are $45 per person and may be obtained from Tom Hall at 315 Center Street, Fayetteville, N.Y. 13066.