JavaScript does not work on your browser

ESPNU Lacrosse Lineup this Weekend, ACC and Johns Hopkins

Screen shot 2014-03-27 at 11.56.09 AM

The ACC and Johns Hopkins will be the focus of three weekend games on ESPNU. Former BIG EAST opponents – No. 4 Notre Dame and No. 2 Syracuse – meet on Saturday at noon. Read More…

Posted in: D1, Notre Dame

UNC Lacrosse Down Two Players Due to Surgeries

Screen shot 2014-03-26 at 12.32.42 PM

The time frame for Kelly’s injury to heal has not been determined as of this date. In eight games this year, he was an outstanding presence for Carolina in the midfield. He was at 61.2 percent in the face-off circle, winning 74 of his 121 attempts. He led Carolina with 47 ground balls and also scored a pair of goals while committing only one turnover. Read More…

Posted in: D1

Must Watch: 2014 ACC Lacrosse Preview

Screen shot 2014-01-31 at 1.08.04 PM

Last season, the Duke Blue Devils captured their second national title in four years. Coming from what was an already loaded conference with teams like UNC, Virginia, and Maryland, the Blue Devils men’s lacrosse team will have their work cut out for them in 2014. Read More…

Posted in: D1, Notre Dame

Syracuse Tabbed ACC Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Favorite

GREENSBORO, N.C. – In its first year as a member of lacrosse’s most powerful conference, Syracuse has been picked to win the ACC in a vote by the league’s six head coaches, the conference announced Wednesday, Dec. 11. Led by five-time NCAA champion head coach John Desko, the Orange received 28 points in the balloting to edge defending national champion Duke and North Carolina, who tied for second with 27 points apiece. Virginia (16 points) was picked fourth. Notre Dame (15 points) and Maryland (13 points) finished fifth and sixth, respectively, in the voting. Read More…

Posted in: D1

ACC Announces 2013 Men’s Lacrosse Individual Award Recipients

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The Atlantic Coast Conference has honored four individuals as recipients of the 2013 ACC Men’s Lacrosse annual awards, announced Tuesday as voted on by the league’s four head coaches. North Carolina’s Marcus Holman was named the Offensive Player of the Year, and Duke’s Brendan Fowler garnered Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Virginia’s Tanner Scales earned Freshman of the Year honors, and North Carolina’s Joe Breschi was named the Coach of the Year. Read More…

Posted in: D1

No. 1 North Carolina Drops Virginia in Shootout for ACC Title, 16-13

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – Nick O’Reilly and Matt White had ACC Men’s Lacrosse Tournament record-breaking performances on Sunday afternoon, but it wasn’t enough as the No. 1 North Carolina Tar Heels (12-3) outlasted the Virginia Cavaliers (7-8) for the 2013 ACC title, 16-13, at Kenan Stadium. With the loss UVa concludes its season and will not make the NCAA Tournament for the first time since the 2004 campaign. Read More…

Posted in: D1

Notre Dame to the ACC, Speculations and Questions Answered in Press Conference

May 26, 2012; Boston, MA, USA; Notre Dame Fighting Irish midfield Will Corrigan (17) controls the ball during the second half of the NCAA Division I semifinals against the Loyola Maryland Greyhounds at Gillette Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Bob DeChiara-US PRESSWIRE

Earlier today, Lacrosse Playground reported the move Notre Dame has made to join the ACC. Yet, a lot of questions have created speculation for what the future holds. Read More…

Posted in: D1

Notre Dame Joins ACC


GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference Council of Presidents has unanimously voted to accept the University of Notre Dame as a new member. The Irish will compete as full members in all conference sponsored sports with the exception of football which will play five games annually against league programs. Read More…

Posted in: D1

Maryland’s Joe Cummings & Virginia Tech’s Ryan Rotanz Honored With 2012 Yeardley Love Unsung Hero Award

Maryland Terps v Georgetown Hoyas

Baltimore, Md. – The One Love Foundation, the nonprofit organization created in 2010 to honor the memory of Yeardley Reynolds Love (YRL), today announced University of Maryland lacrosse player, Joe Cummings and Virginia Tech University lacrosse player Ryan Rotanz have been selected as the 2012 “YRL Unsung Hero Award” recipients. Read More…

Posted in: D1, Womens Lax

Syracuse Accepts Invite to Join ACC


Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Commissioner John D. Swofford today confirmed that the ACC has invited Syracuse University to join the conference and that the ACC presidents have voted to officially accept Syracuse as a conference member. Syracuse University Chancellor and President Nancy Cantor said today that the University’s Board of Trustees has voted unanimously to accept the ACC’s invitation. Read More…