2013 All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Six student-athletes on the Tewaaraton Award watch list highlight this year’s All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team, as announced today by the conference office. The team is determined by a vote of the league’s four head coaches.

Duke, Maryland, and Virginia are tied for the conference lead with three representatives apiece. North Carolina had two players recognized.

Jesse Bernhardt, John Haus, and Niko Amato were named to the All-ACC Team from Maryland, the top seed in this week’s ACC Championship. All three players are repeat honorees, with Amato earning his third career accolade and the second for Bernhardt and Haus. Amato is just the second ACC goalie to earn three career All-ACC honors, following Virginia’s Tillman Johnson (2001-2003).

Duke’s Brendan Fowler, David Lawson, and Jordan Wolf were honored. Fowler, who ranks third in the nation in faceoff win percentage (.652), and Lawson were named to the All-ACC team for the first time in their careers. Wolf ranks ninth nationally with 2.67 goals per game and earns his third career recognition.

Three Virginia players garnered conference accolades. Mark Cockerton, who leads the country in goals per game (3.5), is joined by Scott McWilliams, who ranks third in the NCAA in caused turnovers per game (2.69). Nick O’Reilly earns his first career honor and is 12th nationally in assists per game (2.23).

North Carolina’s Marcus Holman leads the conference and is fourth in the country in points per game (4.77) and repeated as a member of the All-ACC Team. Teammate Joey Sankey garnered his first career accolade.

The 2013 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship gets underway Friday with the semifinals at 5 and 7:30 p.m. at Kenan Stadium at the University of North Carolina. The championship game will be held Sunday at 1 p.m., and all three games can be seen on ESPNU.

Brendan Fowler Junior Midfield Duke
David Lawson Senior Midfield Duke
Jordan Wolf* Junior Attack Duke
Jesse Bernhardt* Senior LSM Maryland
John Haus* Senior Midfield Maryland
Niko Amato* Junior Goalie Maryland
Joey Sankey Sophomore Attack North Carolina
Marcus Holman* Senior Attack North Carolina
Mark Cockerton Junior Attack Virginia
Nick O’Reilly Junior Attack Virginia
Scott McWilliams* Junior Defense Virginia
* 2013 Tewaaraton Award Candidates

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.