WASHINGTON, January 23, 2014 – For the first time ever, the Tewaaraton Foundation will announce the 2014 men’s and women’s watch lists at a special reception in New York City. Join a host of former Tewaaraton winners, lacrosse stars and legends, and be the first to know who is in the running for the 2014 Tewaaraton Awards. The reception will take place the evening of Thursday, Feb. 27, and it will recognize the best players heading into the 2014 NCAA lacrosse season.

Funds raised at the reception will assist The Tewaaraton Foundation in fulfilling its mission to recognize the most outstanding men’s and women’s NCAA players, celebrate legends of the game, honor the Native American historical and contemporary contributions to the game, and provide scholarships to Haudenosaunee/Iroquois students who play lacrosse.

This is the first time the Tewaaraton Foundation will be releasing the exclusive watch lists at a live event, and this announcement will coincide with the beginning of the 2014 college lacrosse season.

“This is exciting for us to announce the Watch Lists in New York for the first time,” said Jeff Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “The list will undoubtedly include a large number of players from the Tri-State area, and we hope to make this an annual event.”

A new guideline implemented for the 2014 season states the initial men’s and women’s watch lists will be limited to 50 players each. A cap has been placed on the number of players on the initial watch lists, as these players should represent the absolute best players in the country who have already proven themselves on the field.

Many players not named to the initial list will play their way into a spot as the season progresses. There will be additions announced on March 20 and April 10. On April 24, the nominees will be announced (25 men and 25 women). Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot onto the list of 25. Finalists will be announced May 8 (five men and five women) and will be invited to the ceremony on May 29 in Washington, D.C.

Guidelines for Finalists and Recipient Selections

  • Finalists will be the best five players chosen without regard to institution
  • Finalists will be selected based on individual performance and a player’s contribution to the success of their team.
  • Finalists are chosen based on current year’s regular season performance (date of selection is at the conclusion of regular season and before playoffs).
  • Recipients are chosen based on current year’s regular season and playoff performance.
  • Sportsmanship can play a role in the selection process and it is important that the recipient upholds the mission and values of the Tewaaraton Award.

“We are indebted to our selection committees who volunteer their valuable time to create these lists and eventually name the winners,” said Sarah Aschenbach, executive director of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “Their expertise is second to none, and they are exhaustive in their research and discussions. The Tewaaraton Awards truly recognize the best players in college lacrosse year in and year out.”

The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will take place on May 29, 2014 in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award or to attend this exciting event, visit tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at facebook.com/tewaaraton and twitter.com/tewaaraton.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.