Berkman Named FieldTurf's Division III Coach of the Year

SALISBURY, Md. – Salisbury University men’s lacrosse head coach Jim Berkman was recently named FieldTurf’s 2010 Men’s Lacrosse NCAA Division III Coach of the Year. In the five-year history of the award, Berkman has claimed top honor three times, including 2006 and 2007.

The Sea Gulls posted a 21-2 record during the 2010 campaign and advanced to the national championship game for the 12th time in program history. The 21 wins gave Berkman, the all-time winningest coach in NCAA men’s lacrosse history, 367 career victories. Salisbury also had eight All-Americans in 2010 and sophomore midfielder Sam Bradman was named the Division III National Midfielder of the Year.

The other award winners, one from each division of men’s and women’s lacrosse, are Dom Starsia (Virgina), Kelly Amonte Hiller (Northwestern), Dan Sheehan (Le Moyne), Meghan McNamara (C.W. Post) and Carol Cantele (Gettysburg). The FieldTurf Team of the Year went to the women’s team from the University of Maryland.

The Sea Gulls are set to kickoff the 2011 campaign at home against Greensboro College on Feb. 13 at 1:00 p.m.

Posted in ,

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.