Crotty Named MLL Rookie of The Year

Boston, Mass. (August 10, 2010) –Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Tuesday that Chicago Machine attack Ned Crotty has been selected as the 2010 Cascade Major League Lacrosse Rookie of the Year, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the League’s six teams.

Crotty, who was drafted by the Chicago Machine with the first overall pick in the 2010 Major League Lacrosse Draft. In the first seven games of his career, Crotty scored 11 goals, 13 assists, and to lead all MLL rookies with 24 points. He finished as the Machine’s third highest scorer behind only Kevin and Mike Leveille. Crotty was tied for seventh most assists in the league.

It was a busy summer for Crotty. Before being drafted into Major League Lacrosse, he won the 2010 NCAA Division I National Championship with the Duke Blue Devils. Crotty was also a part of the US National Team, who won the gold medal at the Lacrosse World Championships in Manchester, England.

Crotty finished with 37 percent of the awards total votes. Max Quinzani of the Boston Cannons and Parker McKee of the Long Island Lizards finished second in the voting, each receiving 20 percent of the total votes.

Total Votes

Ned Crotty 37%
Max Quinzani 20%
Parker McKee 20%
Crotty received 4 first place votes, the most of any rookie. The next highest amount of first place votes was to McKee who had 3. He was followed by Scott Rodgers of the Toronto Nationals who had 2 votes, Quinzani and Stephen Waldeck of the Nationals each received 1 vote.

Total First Place Votes

Ned Crotty 4
Parker McKee 3
Scott Rodgers 2
Max Quinzani 1
Stephen Waldeck 1
All-Time Rookies of the Year

2001 Keith Cromwell, Bridgeport

2002 Conor Gill, Boston

2003 Adam Doneger, Rochester

2004 Ryan Boyle, Philadelphia

2005 Brodie Merrill, Baltimore

2006 Matt Ward, Baltimore

2007 Alex Smith, Rochester

2008 Kevin Huntley, Los Angeles

2009 Dan Hardy, Denver

2010 Ned Crotty, Chicago

The 2010 Major League Lacrosse Championship Weekend Presented by Warrior takes place at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, one of the nation’s premier athletic venues. Tailgating is permitted for both Saturday and Sunday beginning 9:00 AM. A number of great attractions will be featured in the fan zone on both days, including the Warrior Lacrosse Chop Shop, musical performances by MAD PLANET, Bud Light Build-A-Bar, face painting and other activities for fans.

Tickets for the 2010 Championship Weekend presented by Warrior are still available. Complete MLL Championship Weekend packages which include tickets to all three playoff games start at just $30 and may be purchased by calling 866-MLL-TIXX or by visiting Single day tickets will go on sale beginning Sunday, August 15 and will cost $20.

About Cascade

Founded in 1986, Cascade is the undisputed leader in the design, manufacturing, and marketing of helmets and eyewear for lacrosse, the fastest-growing team sport in America. Cascade’s products include men’s lacrosse helmets, women’s lacrosse and field hockey eyewear, rescue and whitewater helmets and ice hockey helmets. Cascade has supplied helmets to 14 of 15 consecutive men’s lacrosse national championship teams and is the exclusive supplier of helmets to Major League Lacrosse and is the helmet of choice for a majority of lacrosse teams worldwide. Known for its numerous innovations in product and service, Cascade has delivered a number of firsts to the lacrosse industry including: inventing the modern lacrosse helmet, pioneering the single plastic shell, creating the first protective eyemask for women, delivering multi-colors, 24- to 48-hour custom delivery and making radical improvements to style, fit and performance. Learn more about Cascade at

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, commenced play in June of 2001. The MLL is comprised of six teams located in Boston, Chesapeake, Chicago, Denver, Long Island, and Toronto. The season will culminate with the 2010 MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior, which will take place on Saturday and Sunday, August 21 and 22 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland.

Major League Lacrosse was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. For more information, please visit the Official League website at

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.