FieldTurf Announces 2010 Lacrosse Awards

FieldTurf announced the winners of the 5th annual 2010 FieldTurf Lacrosse Awards today. Award-winners were named in seven categories, including six college coach of the year winners and one team of the year winner.

This year’s winners are:

* NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Dom Starsia, University of Virginia
* NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern University
* NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Dan Sheehan, Le Moyne College
* NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Meghan McNamara, C.W. Post Long Island University
* NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Jim Berkman, Salisbury University
* NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Carol Cantele, Gettysburg College
* NCAA Team of the Year – University of Maryland (women’s)

DOM STARSIA (University of Virginia) – In 2010, Starsia’s team was one of the most prolific in Virginia history, holding down the No. 1 spot in the polls most of the season and capturing the ACC title as victors of the league’s regular season and tournament crowns. UVa’s 16 wins in 2010 stand only behind the 2006 NCAA title team’s 17 triumphs. Balanced across the board, UVa ranked No. 1 in the nation in scoring margin (5.22), winning percentage (.889) and ground balls (37.17) – No. 3 in the nation in offense (13.44), assists (8.17) and points (21.61) – No. 6 in defense (8.22). Eight members of the 2010 edition of the Cavaliers were named All-Americans.

KELLY AMONTE HILLER (Northwestern University)
– A repeat winner from the 2006, 2008, and 2009 FieldTurf awards, the name Kelly Amonte Hiller has become synonymous with excellence in the world of college lacrosse and also with this award. What Kelly Amonte Hiller has accomplished at Northwestern would be a solid resume for any coach: Five consecutive NCAA national championships, seven American Lacrosse Conference titles and an .855 winning percentage in addition to coaching two Tewaaraton Trophy winners and over two dozen All-Americans.

DAN SHEEHAN (Le Moyne College) – Dan Sheehan, the only coach at Le Moyne College to lead his team to a national championship, has served as a head coach for well over a decade. He is one of the most winningest coaches in NCAA Division II history. The Dolphins lost a heartbreaker to the #1 ranked C.W. Post Pioneers in the 2010 NCAA Championship game in Baltimore. Le Moyne (15-2) was appearing in the Championship game for the fifth consecutive season.

MEGHAN MCNAMARA (C.W. Post Long Island University) – Despite a 14-9 loss to the eventual champions, Adelphi University, in the semi-finals, C.W. Post had another outstanding season. The Pioneers handed Adelphi their only loss of the regular season, a 21-16 defeat on May 1. Meghan McNamara is a staple of success in the lacrosse coaching ranks and well deserving of this year’s award.

JIM BERKMAN (Salisbury University) – Coach Jim Berkman is the all-time winningest coach in NCAA men’s lacrosse history as he begins his 23rd season at the helm for eight-time national champion Salisbury University. In 2010, Salisbury advanced to the national championship game for the 12th time in program history. The Sea Gulls had eight players garner All-American honors. Jim Berkman is a repeat winner of this award, having won back to back in 2006 and 2007.

CAROL CANTELE (Gettysburg College) – After guiding the Bullets to an 18-4 overall record, a 9-0 regular season record in the Centennial Conference, and the program’s ninth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division III Tournament, Cantele’s Gettysburg Bullets captured their fourth regional title in five seasons and advanced to the national semifinals before falling to eventual champion Salisbury University.

UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND (Women’s) – With a great coach and a great program for developing players, it is no surprise that the women’s Maryland Terrapins are a championship team in 2010. Former Maryland standout Cathy Reese enters her fourth season at the helm of the Terrapins’ women’s lacrosse program after revitalizing a team hungry to return to the national forefront. The University of Maryland women’s lacrosse team topped Northwestern in thrilling fashion in the women’s national championship game, overcoming a 6-0 deficit early in the game to beat the Wildcats, ending their five-year stranglehold on the championship.

More information on the FieldTurf Awards Series can be found at

Posted in ,

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.