Connect with us


Isaiah Davis-Allen named Dave Huntley Man of the Year, rounds out 2020 MLL awards

Today, Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced Chesapeake Bayhawks midfielder Isaiah Davis-Allen was named 2020 Dave Huntley Man of the Year.

“Isaiah is a great player and a tremendous leader,” said Bayhawks head coach Tom Mariano. “He’s very involved in his community and is leading the way for black men in lacrosse. He really is a great role model for all of us.”

The University of Maryland graduate spent hours before the season took place, visiting nonprofit organizations in Baltimore affected by COVID-19 and participating in countless community service initiatives in the greater Chesapeake Bay area.

Photo by Alex McIntyre and courtesy of MLL

Along with fellow African-American players Chad Toliver, Kris Alleyne and Mark Ellis (the latter who were also nominated for the award), Davis-Allen also helped garner attention to social justice issues this season. The four players each peacefully protested racial injustice by standing at the center of the field during the national anthem.

Davis-Allen’s efforts to make the sport of lacrosse more inclusive also extended beyond his playing career. The Bayhawks captain serves as a coach for Nation United Lacrosse, an organization that strives to support participation in lacrosse across ethnic, socioeconomic and geographic boundaries, for the last three years. Davis-Allen also serves as a Clinic Instructor for Next Level Spartans, a lacrosse club prioritizing player development and character formation.

“Getting to share a locker room with IDA for the past four years has been great,” said Bayhawks goaltender and Maryland native Brian Phipps. “He’s dynamic in every sense of the word. Everything that he’s doing for the lacrosse community, the Maryland community, and our team is so impactful, and I don’t think there’s a better choice for this award.”

The Dave Huntley Man of the Year award, named in honor of the late MLL head coach who passed away in 2017, recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship, professionalism and service to his community.

The other five finalists for the award were Kris Alleyne (Connecticut Hammerheads), Mark Ellis (New York Lizards), Mikie Schlosser (Denver Outlaws), Tommy Palasek (Philadelphia Barrage) and Zach Goodrich (Boston Cannons). The announcement also rounds out the MLL’s 2020 season awards, with the following players receiving end-of-the-year honors.

MVP – Bryce Wasserman

Photo by Alex McIntyre and courtesy of MLL

Coach of the Year – Sean Quirk

Photo courtesy of MLL

Rookie of the Year – Dan Bucaro

Photo by Alex McIntyre and courtesy of MLL

Offensive Player of the Year – Ryan Lee

Photo courtesy of MLL

Defensive Player of the Year / SSDM of the Year – Zach Goodrich

Photo by Anne Evans and courtesy of MLL

Faceoff Specialist of the Year – Max Adler

Photo by Alex McIntyre and courtesy of MLL

LSM of the Year – CJ Costabile

Photo by Alex McIntyre and courtesy of MLL

Goalie of the Year – Sean Sconone

Photo by Alex McIntyre and courtesy of MLL

Let us know what you think of the 2020 MLL award winners, then check back for Pro Lacrosse Talk’s 2020 All-Pro Team.

Hutton Jackson is a professional video editor, co-founder/host of Pro Lacrosse Talk and editor-in-chief of Lacrosse Playground. He is also an Emmy-winning associate producer with two major sports networks and oversees Lacrosse Playground's video content as the head coordinating producer. Hutton played four years of college lacrosse at DeSales University where his highest lacrosse accolade was being named to Inside Lacrosse's 2014 All-Name Team with current pros Challen Rogers, Deemer Class and Larken Kemp, an honor that didn't require stepping on the field. When he's not writing on lacrosse, he can usually be found diving around the crease in your local men's league and ranting about Baltimore and D.C. professional sports.

Click to comment
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

More in News

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x