MLL Announces 2010 All-Star Roster

Boston, MA (June 21, 2010) – Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, today announced the 2010 Major League Lacrosse All Star Game roster. The 20-man squad will face off against the US Men’s National Team on Thursday July 8, at Harvard Stadium in Boston, MA at 7 PM ET. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.

Dave Huntley, who guided the Toronto Nationals to the MLL Championship last season, will serve as Head Coach for the MLL All Stars. Assistant coaches are Boston Cannons coach Bill Daye and Chesapeake Bayhawks coach John Tucker.

Here are the 2010 Major League Lacrosse All-Stars:


Matt Poskay (Boston Cannons): Poskay is having the best start of his five year MLL career. He currently leads the MLL with 23 goals and 28 points in 6 games this season.

Kevin Leveille (Chicago Machine): Leveille has continued to show his star power this year. He leads the Machine in scoring with 16 goals and 24 points, helping the franchise get off to its best start in team history.

Danny Glading (Chesapeake Bayhawks): Glading is in the midst of his breakout season in the MLL. The second year player has scored 12 goals and 18 points and has become one of the Bayhawks top scoring options.

Matt Danowski (Long Island Lizards): Danowski leads the Lizards this year with 12 goals, 6 assists, and 19 total points on the year.


Matt Abbott (Chesapeake Bayhawks): Abbott continues to flourish in his second year in the league. He leads the Bayhawks midfield with 22 groundballs on the season to go with 6 goals and 4 assists.

Stephen Berger (Long Island Lizards): The last pick in the 2004 MLL Draft, Stephen Berger has developed into one of the league’s best midfielders and is making his fourth All-Star Game appearance. He is the Lizards top scoring midfielder with 7 goals and 10 points.

Dan Hardy (Denver Outlaws): the 2009 Cascade MLL Rookie of the Year, Hardy has made his presence felt throughout the league. In his second year Hardy has helped run the high scoring Outlaws offense, scoring 8 goals and 6 assists for 15 points on the season

Chris Rotelli (Chicago Machine): Chris Rotelli will be making his third MLL All-Star Game appearance. The number 1 overall pick in the 2003 MLL Draft, is having one of the best starts of his career offensively. He has scored 11 goals and 13 points this year.

Kevin Buchanan (Boston Cannons): In his first year playing for the franchise he has scored 11 goals and 17 points on the season.

Bill McGlone (Chicago Machine): Bill McGlone has been a spark plug to the Machine’s offense, putting up some of the best numbers in his career scoring 11 goals and 15 points this year.

Peet Poillon (Chesapeake Bayhawks): Part of the Bayhawks success can be attributed to the surprise play of Peet Poillon. In just his 2nd season, Poillon is the highest scoring player in midfielder in Major League Lacrosse. He has 15 goals, 10 assists and ranks 2nd in the league with 26 points this season.

Face-off Specialist:

Chris Eck (Boston Cannons): Eck is enjoying another solid season taking draws for the Cannons. His 91 face-off wins this season rank second in Major League Lacrosse.

Anthony Kelly (Chicago Machine): Kelly ranks third in Major League Lacrosse with 73 face-off wins in 5 games this season and his .545 win percentage ranks second among players who have taken at least 100 face-offs this season.


Matt Bocklet (Denver Outlaws): Bocklet leads all defenseman with 32 ground balls on the season and anchors a defense that holds teams to just over 12 goals a game.

Brodie Merrill (Toronto Nationals): The 4-time defending Warrior MLL Defensive Player of the Year will be playing in his 6th straight All-Star Game. Merrill has scooped up 26 ground balls and has scored 3 goals and 7 assists on the year.

Michael Evans (Chesapeake Bayhawks): In his 2nd year, Michael Evans has been the defensive leader of one of the MLL’s best teams. The 4-2 Bayhawks have held teams to under 13 points a game this season.

Nicky Polanco (Long Island Lizards): Polanco has continued to be one of the league’s most talented defenseman. Polanco is enjoying another solid season, recording 28 ground balls this year.

Brian Spallina (Long Island Lizards): Polanco’s Lizards counterpart, Brian Spallina has been outstanding once again this year. The team’s oldest player has helped lead the Lizards hold opponents to less than 12 goals a game. The Lizards have allowed the fewest goals per game in the MLL this season.


Jesse Schwartzman (Denver Outlaws): The 2009 Warrior Major League Lacrosse Goalie of the Year has been outstanding in 2010 as well. In five games this season Schwartzman has a 4-1 record with a 12.02 GAA and a .542 save percentage.

Chris Garrity (Chesapeake Bayhawks): Through 6 games this season Garrity has a 4-1 reacord, making 98 saves with a league best save percentage of .587.

In addition to the 20 MLL All-Stars who will be playing in the game, the 25-man US Men’s National Team roster includes 21 players who are currently on MLL rosters.

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.