Pioneers to Host Third Annual Colorado Lacrosse Showcase

DENVER – The University of Denver men’s lacrosse team will play the Denver Outlaws on Saturday, Oct. 22 at 1:30 p.m. at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium in the Third Annual Colorado Lacrosse Showcase. Prior to the start of the game, the Pioneers will host their annual alumni vs. alumni game. Both games will be the first on the Pioneers’ brand new iDNA turf that was installed in August by Desso Sports Systems.

“The opportunity to host the Denver Outlaws and work hand in hand with their great organization for the third straight year is a thrill for our players and an honor for the University of Denver,” said head coach Bill Tierney. “As we move through our fall season, we attempt to introduce new concepts to our younger players and help the older teammates assume more of a leadership role. We had a fantastic season last year and we are aiming for even higher goals in 2012.”

Tickets are $5 if purchased in advance and $10 if purchased the day-of at the DU Box Office. Tickets will go on sale on Friday, Oct. 7 at 9 a.m. They can be purchased online at or at the DU Box Office, located in the Daniel L. Ritchie Center on the DU campus. Admission for DU students is free with a valid Pioneer Card.

“The game against the Outlaws will give us a good idea of where we stand as we move into the winter months of conditioning, strength training and individual skill development,” Tierney said. “There are few places like Denver which will allow both organizations’ many fans the opportunity to see great lacrosse in an exciting fall contest.”

Fans will get the chance to see all their favorite Pioneers, including All-Americans Mark Matthews (Oshawa, Ontario), Alex Demopoulos (Canton, Conn.), Cameron Flint (Georgetown, Ontario), Chase Carraro (Louisville, Ky.) and Jamie Faus (Lakeville, Conn.).

Notable Denver Outlaws that will be participating are former Pioneers Dillon Roy, Jordan Hendry and Andrew Lay, along with Connor Martin, Jesse Schwartzman, Matt Bocklet, Lee Zink, Sean McCarthy, Justin Bokmeyer, Sean DeLaney, Nate Watkins and Ben Brown.

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.