Connect with us


PLL expansion draft results and the inaugural Waterdogs roster

The Premier Lacrosse League conducted its first-ever expansion draft with Waterdogs LC coach Andy Copelan selecting the team’s inaugural eighteen players from the league’s unprotected player list.

The draft was held at NBC Sports Studios in Stamford, CT and saw Andy Copelan make his picks, while Paul Burmeister hosted and PLL analyst Ryan Boyle provided analysis on each of Copelan’s picks.

When asked about his team’s selections Copelan stated, “Today is a great day for the Waterdogs LC. My staff and I couldn’t be more excited to join forces with these eighteen talented players and winners. This draft class is versatile, well balanced and made up of guys of the highest character.”

PickPlayerPositionFormer Team
1.Connor KellyMidfieldWhipsnakes
2.Christian CuccinelloAttackArchers
3.Brodie MerrillDefenseChaos
4.Charlie CiprianoGoalkeeperChaos
5.Ben ReevesAttackWhipsnakes
6.Kyle McClancyMidfieldChaos
7.Kieran McArdleAttackAtlas
8.Brian KaralunasDefenseRedwoods
9.Ben McIntoshMidfieldArchers
10.Drew SniderMidfieldWhipsnakes
11.Ryan DrennerAttackWhipsnakes
12.Noah RichardLSMAtlas
13.Steven DeNapoliSSDMAtlas
14.Wes BergAttackRedwoods
15.Chris SabiaDefenseChrome
16.Ryan ConradMidfieldAtlas
17.Dan EippMidfieldArchers
18. Drew SimoneauFaceoffChrome

The roster features some obvious picks, as well as a few that were unexpected. Some notable players that were available, but went undrafted and will return to their original teams are:

Adam Ghitelman (G, Archers)
Austin Pifanni (D, Atlas)
Cade Van Raaphorst (Atlas)
Chris Cloutier (A, Atlas)
Curtis Dickson (A, Chaos)
Jack Kelly (G, Redwoods)
Jack Near (M, Redwoods)
Joe Fletcher (D, Chrome)
Joel Tinney (M, Atlas)
Joey Sankey (A/M, Archers)
Miles Thompson (A, Chaos)
Pat Harbeson (M, Redwoods)
Romar Dennis (M, Chrome)
Sergio Salcido (M, Redwoods)

Waterdogs LC is the first PLL expansion team and will join the original six clubs this summer in the PLL’s second season. Let us know your thoughts on the Waterdogs roster and which picks surprised you the most in the comments.

Hutton Jackson is a professional video editor, co-founder/host of Pro Lacrosse Talk and editor-in-chief of Lacrosse Playground. He is also an Emmy-winning associate producer with two major sports networks and oversees Lacrosse Playground's video content as the head coordinating producer. Hutton played four years of college lacrosse at DeSales University where his highest lacrosse accolade was being named to Inside Lacrosse's 2014 All-Name Team with current pros Challen Rogers, Deemer Class and Larken Kemp, an honor that didn't require stepping on the field. When he's not writing on lacrosse, he can usually be found diving around the crease in your local men's league and ranting about Baltimore and D.C. professional sports.

Click to comment
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

More in News

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x