Six Nations Chiefs Beat Victoria Shamrocks To Win First Mann Cup In 17 Years

The Six Nations Chiefs’ 17-year championship drought at the Mann Cup is over.

Cody Jamieson scored a hat trick and had four assists as Six Nations defeated the Victoria Shamrocks 8-5 on Friday to win the best-of-seven series 4-2 at Canada’s senior lacrosse championship.

Kasey Beirnes had two goals for the Chiefs, while Steven Keogh, Colin Doyle and Craig Point added singles.

Cory Conway scored twice for Victoria, with Nolan Heavenor, Scott Ranger and Jeff Shattler rounding out the scoring.

Brandon Miller made 40 saves for Six Nations, while Matt Vinc stopped 33 shots for Victoria.

Beirnes opened the scoring on the power play 1:46 into the first period. A goal by Jamieson made it 2-0, but Conway scored both of his goals to tie the game before the end of the period.

Six Nations once again went on the attack in the second with goals by Keogh and Beirnes, but Victoria replied with three of their own to take the lead.

The Chiefs’ offence exploded in the third, highlighted by a pair of goals from Jamieson to secure Six Nations’ first Mann Cup title since 1996.

That last championship, won in a 4-0 sweep against Victoria, was the last of three straight by the Chiefs.

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.