Blinded by the Takes: March 21

By Lacrosse Playground | March 21, 2022 |
A mini collection of thoughts from the weekend.

Grip ‘N Rip: Drew Snider, Denver Outlaws

By Lacrosse Playground | April 5, 2016 |

Not many players come out of the west coast and start after one season at the University of Maryland. Even … Read more

Grip ‘N Rip: Charlie Raffa, Chesapeake Bayhawks

By Lacrosse Playground | March 22, 2016 |

Charlie Raffa is a machine at the faceoff X. I can’t think of a better way to describe him. His … Read more

Grip ‘N Rip: Henry West, University of Maryland

By Lacrosse Playground | November 11, 2015 |

Darien, CT native and University of Maryland senior midfielder, Henry West drops some insight to what he has been using … Read more

University of Maryland and ACC Reach Legal Agreement

By Lacrosse Playground | August 8, 2014 |
COLLEGE PARK, MD – The University of Maryland and the Atlantic Coast Conference announced today they have reached a mediated agreement that ends all litigation between both parties. Maryland has agreed that the ACC will keep the sum of $31,361,788 previously withheld in order to resolve the lawsuits, and the ACC has agreed that Maryland will have no obligation to make any other payments to the ACC. In addition, the lawsuits filed in the State of North Carolina and Maryland will be dismissed. Read More...

Denver Adds Maryland Transfer Connor Cannizzaro

By Lacrosse Playground | July 29, 2014 |
DENVER – The University of Denver men’s lacrosse program has signed Maryland transfer and reining ACC Freshman of the Year Connor Cannizzaro (Cazenovia, N.Y.) to its 2015 roster, head coach Bill Tierney announced on Tuesday. Read More...

Loyola University Maryland Men’s Lacrosse Fletcher Named Patriot League Male Scholar-Athlete Of Year

By Lacrosse Playground | July 9, 2014 |
CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse All-American Joe Fletcher was named the Patriot League Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, an award voted on by conference member schools that honors the top performer in the classroom and competition. The award is presented annually to one male and one female Patriot League student-athlete. Those who are named Scholar-Athletes of the Year in their respective sports – as Fletcher was in men’s lacrosse – are eligible for the honor. Read More...
Feb 22, 2014; Syracuse, NY, USA; Maryland Terrapins attackman Colin Heacock (41) runs past Syracuse Orange defenseman Brandon Mullins (11) during the fourth quarter of a game at the Carrier Dome. Maryland won the game 16-8. Mandatory Credit: Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

Maryland and Rutgers to Host 2015 Big Ten Lacrosse Tournaments

By Lacrosse Playground | June 12, 2014 |
Rosemont, Ill. – With the inaugural seasons of Big Ten men’s and women’s lacrosse set to begin next year, the conference today announced dates and sites for the 2015 and 2016 Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse Tournaments. Read More...

Albany’s Thompson Brothers, Maryland’s Cummings Named 2014 Tewaaraton Award Winners

By Lacrosse Playground | May 30, 2014 |
WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson, University at Albany attackman Miles Thompson, and University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings as the winners of the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award, presented Thursday at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States. Read More...

Women’s Lacrosse 2014 National Championship Game Photos

By Lacrosse Playground | May 27, 2014 |
Terps win their 12th 'Ship!
May 27, 2013; Philadelphia, PA, USA; Syracuse Orange attackman Billy Ward (3) dodges to the goal against the Duke Blue Devils during the first quarter of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship Game at Lincoln Financial Field. Duke won the game 16-10. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

Highlights: Men’s and Women’s ACC Lacrosse Championships

By Lacrosse Playground | April 28, 2014 |
Maryland topped Syracuse 13-7 on Sunday to win its last ACC Championship. The victory marks the Terps' sixth consecutive conference title. Read More...
All-ACC Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team Announced

By Lacrosse Playground | April 23, 2014 |
Eleven student-athletes on the Tewaaraton Award watch list highlight this year’s All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Team, as announced today by the conference office. The team was determined by a vote of the league’s six head coaches who could not vote for their own players. Read More...