University Club Unveils New Trophy Case for Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Award is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is annually awarded to the NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse player of the year. Last night the Tewaaraton Advisory Council unveiled the new trophy case at the University Club in Washington, DC. Among those in attendance were Donald Phillips, Jeffrey Harvey (former Bayhawks Owner), US Lacrosse, University Club members and the Capital Lacrosse Club team.

The bronze Tewaaraton Trophy featuring a Mohawk native was designed and created by Frederick Kail. Spanning four decades, Mr. Kail has distinguished himself as an accomplished sports sculptor and pre-eminent lacrosse sculptor. With this timeless work of art, he captures the exciting spirit and powerful dynamics of lacrosse with meticulous attention to accurate detail. His depiction of a single unnamed Mohawk player, dramatically surging to the front, profoundly portrays the competitive human spirit and superior athletic ability required to win this award.
[nggallery id=7]

Posted in

Lacrosse Playground

In 2009, Adam O’Neill, Harry Alford and Thomas Alford launched Lacrosse Playground as the preeminent site for lacrosse gearheads. For years Lacrosse Playground provided lacrosse fans with tutorials and tips on how to string a lacrosse head, up-close looks at the gear the top players used and sneak peeks at equipment and uniforms before they were released. More than 10 years and millions of visits later, Lacrosse Playground has relaunched with a focus on storytelling. Our mission is to provide comprehensive coverage of the latest lacrosse news, share insights into the sports betting and fantasy lacrosse world and showcase the lifestyles and personalities of the sport of lacrosse through articles, videos and podcasts.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.